Third straight grand final for Sunshine

Sunshine's Troy Stone. Picture Damjan Janevski

By Lance Jenkinson

Sunshine is hungrier than ever before as it takes aim at a premiership three-peat in the Victorian Turf Cricket Association division 2 this weekend.

The Crows advanced to their third consecutive grand final with a 148-run battering of St Andrews Pascoe Vale at Demptser Park last Sunday.

Crows captain-coach Troy Stone is one of six players aiming to clinch a third straight premiership medal and there’s four others who are yet to taste the ultimate glory.

“We’ve got four blokes that haven’t tasted premiership success and they’re pretty keen to have that feeling,” he said.

“There’s also six guys going for their third and that doesn’t change anything because you always want to win.”

Stone was the spark for Sunshine with 113 in his side’s 216 off 74 overs.

It was the continuation of a wonderful season with the bat for Stone, which has included three centuries and four half centuries.

Making a century in a big final was satisfying for Stone, but not as much as leading his team to another grand final.

“It’s pretty good to be honest, but the result is the best thing at the moment,” he said.

Sunshine’s defence of the large total was never in doubt.

It was a nightmare for St Andrews Pascoe Vale, bowled out for 68.

Spinner Ruwan Jayaweera took 4-16 off eight overs, taking his season wicket tally to league best 37 wickets.

Naveed Hussain was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3-9 off 13 overs.

Sunshine will meet minor premiers Newport-Digman in a four-day grand final starting on Saturday.

In senior division, St Albans caused a huge upset, toppling Doutta Stars by six runs in a thriller at Buckley Park.

The Saints were underdogs going in and their chances seemed to weaken even further when they posted 118.

St Albans stuck to its guns with the ball and rolled Doutta for just 112.

In division 3, Sydenham-Hillside won a semi-final nail-biter over West Newport by two runs, advancing to a grand final against Williamstown Imperials.