North Sunshine stars recognised


Michaela Meade and Tara Murray

Two North Sunshine stars just missed out on the gong for the Western Region Football League women’s division 2 best and fairest.

The awards took place virtually last week to adhere to current COVID-19 restrictions.

It was the first ever division 2 best and fairest after the division was split.

Tashania Knapp Sirengo and Rainbow Ebert came runner-up and third, respectively, with Knapp Sirengo very narrowly missing out on the top spot.

Knapp Sirengo took the runner-up position with 11 points, just one behind winner Chloe Muus from Wyndhamvale, who took out the title with 12 points.

Ebert came equal third place alongside Madeline Johnson from Point Cook Centrals, both racking up eight points to their names.

Knapp Sirengo was in front when the counting started after round 10.

Muus was named best on ground in the round 11 match between Wyndhamvale and North Sunshine to hit the front.

One vote in the final round was enough to secure the best and fairest award.

Knapp Sirengo can also celebrate being named in the 2021 women’s division 2 team of the year.

She was named in the team of the year along with teammate Jessica Mudie.

Knapp Sirengo has been allocated as a third rover, and Mudie is part of the interchange line up.

Muss was named ruck-rover in the team of the year.

West Footscray’s Shane Windridge was named coach of the year. Windridge, who has been reappointed for next year, led his side to the minor premiership.

Six Yarraville Seddon’s players were named in the team of the year, including Melanie Thompson-Allan.

Thompson-Allan was named captain of the year.

Five players from the Roosters were named in the team of the year, as well as five players from the Point Cook Centrals.