Knockout stage begins in VTCA T20


Tara Murray

Sydenham-Hillside, PEGS and Grand United are among the teams through to the next stage of Victorian Turf Cricket Association T20 competition.

The knockout stage of the competition got underway this week, featuring the top teams from the earlier pool rounds.

PEGS will face Haig-Fawkner in the next round after wins against Westmeadows and Roxburgh Park respectively.

In its match, PEGS made 101 with no player making more than 20. Ryan Blair and Chinthaka Jayasinghe took three wickets each for the Warriors.

Westmeadows was bowled out for 82. PEGS shared the wickets around.

Haig-Fawkner had little trouble in chasing down Roxburgh’s Park total of 96, hitting the winning runs in the second last over.

Haig Fawkner finished 3-97.

Sydenham-Hillside secured its spot in the next round, with victory against Tullamarine.

The Demons made 4-123 with captain David Scott making 51 not out

The Storm made light work of the run chase, hitting the runs with more than five overs remaining.

They made 1-127 with Ben Green top scoring with 55 not out.

The Storm will face Point Cook in the next round.

Point Cook made 1-80 in reply to Williamstown CYMS’s 8-79.

Grand United is also through to the next stage after beating Maribyrnong Park St Marys.

Grand United made 6-157 with Ashley Burke making 39 not out.

Maribyrnong Park St Marys was bowled out for 143 with two balls remaining.

John Cacchione top scored with 34, with Hashan James and Milorad Konjevic three wickets each for Grand United.

Grand United will face the winner of Deer Park and Wyndhamvale. That match will be played next week after being rescheduled, with both sides missing players due to COVID-19.

Aberfeldie is also through to the next round after a final over win against Footscray United.

United made 7-118 with Lahiru Kumara making 38.

Aberfeldie hit the winning runs on the fourth last ball, finishing 5-119. Jordan Kight was the star with the bat, finishing 68 not out.

Aberfeldie will face either Altona North or the Druids in the next round.