Rupo recovers to be in line for fourth win

David McDonald made 25 for Rupertswood on Saturday before being run out. Picture: Damian Visentini

Rupertswood has started 2015-16 where it left off last season in the Gisborne and District cricket B-grade competition.

After dominating the regular season last season, Rupo has started with three wins from three matches.

And it’s on track to add a fourth to that tally after day one of the match against Bacchus Marsh.

Sent into bat at Rupertswood Oval, Rupo was in trouble at 4-47 before the middle and lower orders rescued the innings and pushed the total to 8-233.

Lachlan McLean backed up his 49 not out from the previous match with 70 not out.

Skipper John Lane made 48 batting at number nine before being run out.

The other undefeated side in B-grade, St Anthonys, is also in the box seat for at least first innings points, this time against the winless Ashfield.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat, St Anthonys made 9-302 off its 75 overs.

Captain Jamie Bogler led the way with an unbeaten 119 and figured in a stand of 170 for the sixth wicket with Jason Orr (70).

Matthew Bulluss was the best of the Ashfield bowlers with 5-87.

Lancefield and Macedon are both looking for their first win of the season in their match at Lancefield Oval.

Macedon won the toss, and at 2-24 it looked as though it may have been the wrong decision.

But opener Chris Axton and Taylor Stevenson settled the innings and when Axton was out for 51, captain Gary De Rosayro joined the party.

At 4-201, Macedon looked set to launch some late-innings hitting, but it lost 4-4 to finish at 8-210.

Lancefield captain-coach Luke Barker was the only multiple wicket taker.

In the other match, East Sunbury will have to make its highest score of the season so far to beat Wallan.

Coming off its first loss of the season, Wallan posted a handy 8-203 from its 75 overs.

Matty Bell passed 20 for the first time this season before being run out for 57.

Joel Gilder, with 39, was the only other player to pass 20 for Wallan.

Gary Williams took three wickets for the Thunder and Matthew Jackson took two.